San Francisco DUI Attorney
The Law Office of Robert Tayac
San Francisco DUI Lawyer Attorney Profile Expert Profiles Testimonials Case Evaluation Contact Us
What To Do First
DUI Overview
The Criminal Case
The DMV Case
First Offense DUI
Second Offense DUI
Third Offense DUI
DUI Driving Cues
Field Sobriety Tests
Preliminary Alcohol Screening
Evidential Breath Testing
Evidential Blood Testing
Blood Alcohol Testing
Finding Someone in Jail
DUI Consequences
DUI Accidents Causing Injury
DUI Investigations
Accident Investigation
DUI Penalties
DUI and Professional Licenses
California DUI Laws
Blood Alcohol Calculator
DUI FAQ
DUI Defenses
Out of State Drivers
DUI Medication & Drug Arrests
Boats & Motorcycles
DUI Schools
Federal DUI Cases
California Supreme Court
DUI Glossary
California Drunk Driving Defense by Lawrence Taylor and Robert Tayac
WARNING
View Our Informative Videos
We accept Visa, Mastercard, American Express and Discover.

DUI Penalties

California DUI penalties which are listed below are non-enhanced. DUI sentences can be enhanced if there are aggravating circumstances. Sentence enhancements can be imposed if the driver refused to take a blood alcohol test, had a BAC result of 0.15% higher, was driving with a minor under age 14 in the vehicle, had prior DUI convictions, was speeding and driving recklessly, or injured another person in a collision.

First DUI Offense – No Probation
Jail: 96 hours to 6 months
Fine: $390.00 to $1,000.00, with possible penalty assessments
License Suspension: up to 6 months
Treatment Program: None required, but DMV will not reinstate suspended license unless proof of treatment program attendance is provided

First DUI Offense – Probation
Jail: 48 hours to 6 months
Fine: $390.00 to $1,000.00, with possible penalty assessments
License Suspension: up to 6 months
Treatment Program: Mandatory attendance in a DUI school. If the BAC result was less than 0.20%, a 3 month DUI school is ordinarily required. If the BAC result was greater than 0.20% or the driver refused to submit to or complete a chemical test a 9 months DUI school will ordinarily be required.

Second DUI Offense (within 10 years) – No Probation
Jail: 90 days to 1 year
Fine: $390.00 to $1,000.00, with possible penalty assessments
License Suspension: up to 2 years
Treatment Program: 18 months or 30 months in drug/alcohol treatment program

Second DUI Offense (within 10 years) – Probation
Jail: 96 hours to 1 year
Fine: $390.00 to $1,000.00, with possible penalty assessments
License Suspension: ordinarily 1 year with the possibility of a restricted license after 90 days
Treatment Program: 18 months or 30 months in drug/alcohol treatment program

Third DUI Offense (within 10 years)
Jail: 120 days to 1 year
Fine: $390.00 to $1,000.00, with possible penalty assessments
License Suspension: up to 3 years
Treatment Program: 18 months or 30 months in drug/alcohol treatment program

Fourth DUI Offense (within 10 years)
Jail: 180 days to 16 months
Fine: $390.00 to $1,000.00, with possible penalty assessments
License Suspension: up to 4 years

San Francisco DUI Attorney

If you have been arrested for DUI in San Francisco, obtaining a qualified attorney is the most important decision you will make. A qualified DUI attorney will protect your legal rights, investigate the circumstances surrounding your arrest, question law enforcement officers and witnesses, and keep you informed of your options. A skilled attorney can also provide the resources and aggressive defense you will need to fight your DUI charges or minimize their impact.

Robert Tayac has been helping people charged with DUI in San Francisco for over a decade. He has the education, specialized training, and experience to successfully defend your San Francisco driving under the influence case. Robert Tayac will also schedule your hearing with the California DMV and represent you at the hearing. Remember, you only have 10 days to prevent your license from being automatically suspended. When you work with Robert Tayac, you can be assured that you are retaining the services of a knowledgeable and trustworthy DUI defense lawyer.

Contact The Office

Mr. Tayac and the DUI investigators and experts working with him stand ready to help you or your family member. A member of the office is available to speak with you regarding the case any day of the week between the hours of 8:00 a.m. and 8:00 p.m. Pacific Standard Time at 415-552-6000.

If you hire the Law Office of Robert Tayac, you will know that you have retained the services of the most knowledgeable and experienced DUI defense team.