San Francisco DUI Attorney
The Law Office of Robert Tayac
San Francisco DUI Lawyer Attorney Profile Expert Profiles Testimonials Case Evaluation Contact Us
What To Do First
DUI Overview
The Criminal Case
The DMV Case
First Offense DUI
Second Offense DUI
Third Offense DUI
DUI Driving Cues
Field Sobriety Tests
Preliminary Alcohol Screening
Evidential Breath Testing
Evidential Blood Testing
Blood Alcohol Testing
Finding Someone in Jail
DUI Consequences
DUI Accidents Causing Injury
DUI Investigations
Accident Investigation
DUI Penalties
DUI and Professional Licenses
California DUI Laws
Blood Alcohol Calculator
DUI FAQ
DUI Defenses
Out of State Drivers
DUI Medication & Drug Arrests
Boats & Motorcycles
DUI Schools
Federal DUI Cases
California Supreme Court
DUI Glossary
California Drunk Driving Defense by Lawrence Taylor and Robert Tayac
WARNING
View Our Informative Videos
We accept Visa, Mastercard, American Express and Discover.

California Driving Under the Influence (DUI) Laws

Driving under the influence (DUI) is a broad term to classify offense which can be charged and punished in several different ways depending upon the circumstances of the case, the location of the arrest, the driver and the driver's criminal DUI or DMV history, and the attorney who represents the person charged with DUI. A driving under the influence case is considered a first offense DUI if a person arrested has never been convicted of a DUI related charge, which includes driving under the influence, driving with a blood alcohol level of 0.08 percent, or reckless driving with alcohol involved (wet reckless). First offense DUI convictions carry a range of specific consequences. The punishment imposed can be predicted by an attorney experienced in DUI cases and the particular county in which the DUI arrest occurred.

First offense DUI punishments can be more severe (enhanced) if the driver had a breath or blood alcohol level of 0.15 percent or greater. The consequence will be even more severe if the driver had a breath or blood alcohol level of 0.20 percent or greater. Some courts or prosecutors will impose an even more severe consequence if the person had a blood alcohol level of 0.30 or above.

As well, a first offense DUI will be enhanced if the driver was involved in an accident causing injury to a person other than the driver charged with DUI. Injury DUI's may be charged as a felony or a misdemeanor depending upon the extent of the injuries. As well, there are other enhancements which can imposed if great bodily injury (serious injuries) occurred or if multiple people other than the driver arrested for DUI were injured.

Contact The Office

Mr. Tayac and the DUI investigators and experts working with him stand ready to help you or your family member. A member of the office is available to speak with you regarding the case any day of the week between the hours of 8:00 a.m. and 8:00 p.m. Pacific Standard Time at 415-552-6000.

If you hire the Law Office of Robert Tayac, you will know that you have retained the services of the most knowledgeable and experienced DUI defense team.